I don't know about all of you, but this has always been my favorite time of year. And not because of all the romance and flowers and Cupid stuff. Although, that is nice too of course. But it's always been my favorite time of year because it is the time where my favorite man comes front and center. Yes my friends, there will always be one man who will have my heart. And that man is Russell Stover :) This is the one time of year where it is not frowned upon to sit and stuff your face with tons of chocolate.
So being gluten free how can we still enjoy the free pass for chocolate? What Valentine's candy actually is gluten free?
Dove chocolate- Almost all Dove chocolates are gluten free. Dove is manufactured by Mars Chocolate (the same as M&Ms) and they guarantee that all of their chocolates are gluten free except for their milk chocolate cinnamon graham and their cookies and cream flavor. So you can feel reasonably confident purchasing any Dove chocolate products for Valentine's Day. Of course still check the ingredients just to be sure.
Hershey's Kisses- All of Hershey's kisses are gluten free regardless of the color wrapper. So they're safe for any holiday season. However, not all Hershey's products are safe so make sure you're checking labels. For instance, the Hershey's Hugs which come out around this season are not gluten free. Also only the Hershey's milk chocolate kisses are safe, not the ones with the fillings. So make sure you're checking ingredients if you decide to go rogue.
M&Ms- Like the Dove chocolates, all M&Ms are gluten free except for the pretzel filled ones. However, I recently heard about warnings on the mint and coconut flavored ones that read may contain wheat. So again still check those labels to be safe. But the normal milk chocolate M&Ms are definitely safe. And they still come in those small bags so gluten free children can hand them out in school as well.
Starbursts- Are all gluten free. Safe Choice :)
Sweethearts conversation hearts- As long as you stick with the original Necco brand these cute little hearts with their sweet sayings are safe. Just stay away from the Brach's and Mayfair brands, they are NOT gluten free.
And now for my man, Russell- Russell Stover Inc. produces Russell Stover boxes, Whitmans and Weight Watchers by Whitman's. They report to the best of their knowledge all of their products are gluten free, except for products containing cookies, such as their S'mores or Cookies and Cream flavors. However, there is a catch: "Be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that's also used to make other products. So we can't completely rule out the possibility of cross-contamination, despite efforts to prevent it," Russell Stover says in its statement. So basically, you need to gauge your own sensitivity and buy at your own risk.
Boxes to definitely STAY AWAY FROM:
- Anything by Brach's candy corporation
- Ghirardelli products (They are all made in a factory that produces wheat, so although they do not all contain wheat there is definite cross contamination. Again, depends on your sensitivities)
- Lindt Lindor truffles (All contain barley)
So I hope this helps you satisfy that sweet tooth this year. I know for me, it's just not Valentine's Day without some chocolate.
Signup for news and special offers!
You have successfully joined our subscriber list.
Keep in mind that I may receive commissions when you click my links and make purchases. However, this does not impact my reviews and comparisons. I try my best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.