Guest Post from Kate Raber- Celiac Disease Program Education Specialist
Have you ever read a label while grocery shopping that felt like it had conflicting information on it? You’re not alone. Label-reading can be tricky with celiac disease, and not just because gluten can hide in many different ingredients.
Anything that is marked “gluten-free” on the label is safe to eat. Some products have a “certified gluten-free” symbol on it while others do not. However, any product in the United States labeled “gluten-free” must have less than 20 parts per million of gluten.
Products that do not have a "gluten-free" label are where it gets trickier. Although the FDA requires products to be labeled with allergen warnings alongside the ingredients, these allergen warnings are only for the 8 major allergens identified by the FDA. Those allergens are milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans. So, only wheat appears on the allergen lists, not gluten. If the allergen statement tells you the product contains wheat, of course don’t eat it. But, you will have to look a little bit further into the ingredient label for any listed gluten.
Here are other common gray areas in labeling that need more clarification:
Signup for news and special offers!
You have successfully joined our subscriber list.
Keep in mind that I may receive commissions when you click my links and make purchases. However, this does not impact my reviews and comparisons. I try my best to keep things fair and balanced, in order to help you make the best choice for you.