So I found this article on the internet today that examines if vodka needs to be marketed as gluten-free or not. Apparently many believe it does not need to be because the fermentation process should be enough to get rid of all the gluten in the alcohol. This confused me, because wouldn't that argument then be saying that ALL alcohol should be gluten-free?
I'd have to disagree if that's their argument, because I know I definitely have had reactions to different types of alcohol, including vodka, as have many other gluten-free people I know.
What is also coincidental is the timing of this article for me. I was just out with a gluten-free friend of mine the other day and we found ourselves questioning the different brands of vodka. Many of us mistakenly believe that vodka is safe to drink because it's usually advertised that vodka is made from potatoes. However, in doing some further digging, I found that truth to very seldom be the case actually. Here is a list of vodka base ingredients by brand:
Popular Vodkas & what they’re distilled from:
- Wheat: Stolichnaya (blend), Grey Goose, Ketel One, Snow Queen, Pearl, Van Gogh (blend), La Chance, Vox, Polar Ice, Absolut, Trump, X-Rated (blend), *Three Olives is also Wheat-distilled, but declares itself to be Gluten-Free on the Three Olives website
- Rye: Belvedere
- Barley: Finlandia, Koskenkorva
- Corn: Smirnoff, SF Vodka “Baker Beach”
- Potato: Tito's (This one is actually my new favorite vodka) Chopin, Teton Glacier, Monopolowa, Vikingfjord, Luksosowa, Blue Ice - Grape: Cîroc, Bombora, DiVine, SF Vodka “China Beach”
Sadly, very few of the major brands of vodka are actually safe to drink if this is the case. But what about you? Do any of you have opinions or insights on this topic?
Here is the article by the way: http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=vodka-be-marketed-as-gluten-free